Don’t Snicker at my Doodle

Snickerdoodle Cupcake!

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes!  White cinnamon cake with a snickerdoodle cookie inside, topped with cinnamon buttercream and garnished with a snickerdoodle cookie!

Or laugh at my title…Because these cupcakes are the BOMB!  I mean, I cannot believe I waited sooo long to make these.  A couple years ago I ate a Snickerdoodle cupcake from a local bakery and thought that was such a genius idea!  Such a simple idea, but yet why had I never thought of it?!   So, after I received a text from my wonderful husband hoping that I was making cupcakes today I quickly changed gears of doing ‘nothing’ to baking!  I still had leftover cookie dough from an earlier post found here:  http://mrscrislip.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/sugar-sugar-you-are-my-cookie/  I told you I absolutely LOVED that sugar cookie recipe because I use it so much!  And it’s great for storing in the fridge or in the freezer!  Anyhow, I grabbed the cookie mix, a white boxed cake mix and got to baking!  This is a great start to what’s going to be a great weekend for us!  Hope you try this!  These are the Bomb Snickerdoodle Cupcakes (they’re that good!)

*Here’s the recipe for the cake:
1 Box white cake mix
1 cup milk
1/3 cup oil
3 whole eggs
1/2 cup sugar
2 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pans with liners. Prepare sugar cookie dough. Recipe found here: http://mrscrislip.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/sugar-sugar-you-are-my-cookie/ Chill cookie dough. Mix all cake ingredients together until well blended. Fill 1/2-2/3 full. Roll cookie dough into 1/2″ balls. Roll in cinnamon and sugar. Drop into center of cupcake liners.  Bake for 19-23 minutes.

*After cupcakes are done, preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Roll more 1/2″ cookie balls rolled in sugar. Bake for 5 minutes.  Top cupcakes with these cookies once iced.

Trust me, I was scared too to just drop the cookie dough in the center!

Trust me, I was scared too to just drop the cookie dough in the center!

snicker2

Look! They come out perfect!

 

*Cinnamon Buttercream Icing:
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine softened
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 cups confectioners’ sugar
2 tbsp cinnamon
2 tablespoons milk

Directions: In a large bowl beat shortening and butter together until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla and cinnamon. Gradually add sugar one cup at a time. When all sugar is mixed, add in milk 1 tbsp at a time if necessary.

 

snicker4

Enjoy these yummy cupcakes!

One thought on “Don’t Snicker at my Doodle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

