Beat the Clock: Crock Pot Chicken & Stock

Crock Pot Whole Chicken!

Crock Pot Whole Chicken!

I love baking, but I also cook everyday most days.  I hate spending hours cooking so I always look for the short and sweet recipes.  Nothing fancy, but tasty!  I know we all live crazy lives and busy schedules, so sometimes a crock pot meal can really help us out.  As Spring approaches for my family our schedule is getting jam packed with baseball, dance, and finals.  This recipe is one of my favorite crock pot meals because it’s so cheap, quick, and tasty.  The best part is you get 2 meals for one price!  Why not give it a try this week when your day is just going to be too much for cooking…or just give it a try because it’s delicious!  

Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe:

  • 3 or 4 lb whole chicken
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 onion

Directions:
1. Combine the dried spices in a bowl.
2. Loosely chop the onion and place in bottom of slow cooker.
3. Remove any giblets from the chicken and then rub spice mixture all over.
4. Put chicken on top of onions in the crock pot, cover it, and turn it on high.
5. Cook for 4-5 hours.

*Lots of Tips:

  • You can get a whole 3 or 4 lb chicken for about $5!!  This feeds my family of 5+ leftovers and chicken stock!
  • There is NO need to add liquid to the pot because the chicken will create lots of juice that you can later use to make a yummy stock!  (See below!)
  • Most of the time I just rub the chicken down in salt, pepper, and garlic. Or I use a garlic and olive oil mixture.
  • You can cook on low for 8-9 hours. Make sure chicken is cooked to 165 degrees.
See how juicy it gets?!

See how juicy it gets?!


 

DON’T FORGET TO MAKE YOUR STOCK! HERE’S HOW:

  • Leftover chicken bones and carcass
  • 1 rib of celery
  • 1 carrot, roughly chopped (no need to peel)
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions:
1. Remove all edible meat from the chicken and leave the bones, skin, cooking juices, and onions in the crock pot.
2. Add the celery, carrot, and spices on top and then fill the crock pot with water. Leave about a 1/2″ at the top.
3. Turn crock pot on low after dinner and cook all night long or in the morning for 8-10 hours.
4. Strain the stock to remove all bones, vegetables, etc.
5. Refrigerate or freeze stock.

*TIP: I freeze my stock in quart size freezer bags. This is great for soups or rices!
*TIP: You can also freeze the stock in ice cube trays for those times you need just a little stock!

 

crock2

All the bones and stuff. My husband does this part for me!

After I added water.  I improvised and used baby carrots!

After I added water. I improvised and used baby carrots!

Leave a Reply

