The Best Recipe of Your Life

fam

The Best Recipe of My Life. http://melissarosicphotography.com/

I am about to give you the BEST recipe of your life.  But, before I do, I want you to know that I am typing this behind blurred eyes, and some lines with tears flowing gently down my cheek.  The past few weeks months have been tough.  My last grandparent, my grandma, just faced death head on.  I mean, I guess we all can go at anytime, but this is real.  Reality has struck us that one generation is now gone physically, and here we are…left to live without her.  We are left to live without her, but not what she has instilled in us all.  She has been a caregiver, a confidant, a cook, a ‘mean’ grandma with a paddle (or a house slipper)!  She has been our grandma, one who has loved every single child, grandchild, and great-grandchild.  The recipe you ask?  I’m getting there.  I attribute my love for the kitchen partially to my grandmother.  My fondest memories were sharing a meal with all of my family at the jam packed kitchen table on a hot day with no air conditioning fighting over who got to sit by the fan.  Food has a way of bringing people together.  I think that’s why I love cooking and baking, especially with my kids and my husband.  With that said, here is the best recipe of your life.  Thank you grandma, may you rest peacefully knowing the love you have brought to many.  We love you.

*BEST Recipe of Your Life:

  • Great-Grandparents
  • Grandparents
  • Mom
  • Dad
  • Siblings
  • Nieces
  • Nephews
  • Step-parents
  • Aunts
  • Uncles
  • Cousins
  • Pets
  • Friends

*Directions:

  1. Get together, make the time.
  2. Call each other, even when you don’t want to talk.
  3. Don’t fight or stay mad at one another.
  4. Tell them you love them, even after that fight.
  5. Resolve your issues, whatever they may be.
  6. Take time with one another.  You won’t regret it.
  7. Be there for each other, through the good and the bad.
  8. Respect each other, and each other’s life choices.
  9. Share with one another.  Let them know you.
  10. Don’t judge.  It’s not our place.
  11. Make memories, and lots of them!
  12. And, above all…Love one another.

*TIPS: We ALL have time to spare to spend with our family.


I know this is not my typical post.  My grandma and family have been weighing heavy on my mind.  We lost a great woman in the early morning hours, but we gained a beautiful angel in heaven.  I just want to share how  important it is to spend time with one another.   I am so grateful to have 25 years with my grandma.  I am saddened that I never got to meet my other grandmother, but my mom says I get my love of the kitchen from her too.  See how important life is?  We are shaping our children and grandchildren’s future right now!  So, I leave you with this.  What do you want your grandchildren to get from your being?

grandma

Much love, grandma.

One thought on “The Best Recipe of Your Life

  1. You are so right! You were an adorable child when you were little, and now have grown into a beautiful woman, wife and mother. Your children are so adorable, and look like you when you were a little one! May God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

