Pizza! Pizza!

Pizza! Pizza!

Pizza! Pizza!

It’s pizza night at our house!  I hope we aren’t the only family who resorts to pizza for dinner a couple times one time a week.  Tonight though, I resisted the urge of the convenience of Little Caesar’s $5 pizza and Papa John’s yummy garlic sauce and made my own pizza.  I’ve made pizza before.  We like to make it when we are trying to watch what we eat.  (You can make lots of low-cal, delicious pizza’s!)  Homemade pizza is just sooo good.  And sooo simple to make.  I make sure to keep these ingredients on hand so when I am at a loss of what to cook I can throw a pizza together quickly (plus you can use these ingredients for lots of other things!)  That way we save money, time, and lets be honest…eating your own food is satsifying.

Pizza Dough Recipe:

1 package active dry yeast (2 1/4 tsp)
1 teaspoon white sugar
1 cup warm water
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt

Directions: (I use a KitchenAid Stand Mixer with dough hook, but you can mix by hand.)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. In a bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes. Stir in flour, salt and oil. Beat with dough hook until smooth. Let rest for 5 minutes. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and roll out about 1/2″ thick. Transfer to a pizza stone or lightly greased baking pan. Add desired toppings and bake in preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

I sprinkled Parmesan cheese and Italian seasoning on the dough before I added pizza sauce. Then I added the sauce, a provolone/mozzarella cheese mixture, and pepperoni. Yummy!

Make it a pizza night!

Make it a pizza night!

*Tips: Frozen pepper and onion blend makes a yummy and healthier pizza! Also, use part-skim mozzarella cheese to reduce the calories.

*Tips: Try rotel and cheese, yumm!

*Tips: I use spaghetti sauce most of the time because that’s what I keep on hand.

Leave a Reply

