Chocolate Buttercream

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting!

Chocolate Buttercream Icing!

Who doesn’t like LOVE chocolate?!  Ok…I don’t really LOVE it…and neither does my husband…or my mom…or…I could go on.  Silly, I know.  But, this frosting seems to make everyone LOVE chocolate.  It’s silky-smooth texture melts ever so delicately in your mouth.  And, it’s simple to make.  It’s just like making a regular buttercream icing, but you add cocoa.  Not too hard, right?!  I paired it with a white cake this time, but try a peanut butter cake with it.  Yummm!  (I think I have already told you my love for reese cups, so I guess you understand why I would love that combo!)  Give it a try, even if you don’t LOVE chocolate!  You may just LOVE this!

Chocolate Buttercream Icing Recipe:

1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups powdered sugar
3-4 tablespoons milk, as needed

Directions:

In large bowl, cream shortening and butter together. Add cocoa and vanilla. Gradually add sugar, one cup at a time, beating well. When all sugar has been mixed in, icing may appear dry. Add milk and beat until fluffy.

*TIPS:  You can use all shortening, all butter, or all margarine.  However, I recommend the shortening and real butter combo!

Cupcakes we made over the weekend!  The chocolate are on the right, yumm!

Cupcakes made over the weekend! The chocolate are on the right, yumm!

One thought on “Chocolate Buttercream

Leave a Reply

